About Me: I Love Pie

I don’t know what it is, but pie is my all time favorite desserts. If I could marry it, I would. In fact, I was adamant about serving pie all throughout my wedding. I had mini Jamaican patties (which are like the island’s version of an empanada) during cocktail hour, three different pies for the main course, and for dessert, there were apple, maple buttermilk, mini chocolate ganache, and mini vanilla cream pies. It was my personal dream come true!

12011379_1760118560882173_7297812245853176103_n
My Little Pie Bar at My Wedding. There was Chicken Pot Pie, Sausage & Peppers Pie, and Veggie Quiche for The Non-Meat Eaters.

Now, I have no idea where my love of pie comes from (just like everything else), but I have a slight inkling it might stem from me gorging myself on beef patties every time I visited London, Atlanta, or Jamaica growing up. These are my top three places to find the very best Jamaican patties. No one can top them, in my opinion.

12036498_1760118124215550_745198416024741833_n
The Mini-Patties From My Wedding. So Good!

Somehow that patty love manifested into a full blown pie obsession, and I look for every excuse to make one. I’m constantly trying out new recipes, tweaking my old ones, switching up flavors as the seasons change, and finding new ways to present them. Pies are inherently portable, versatile, and simple; depending on what kind I’m making. They can be either sweet or savory, normal 9″ or mini, open faced or topped, covered with either a crust or crumble topping, the possibilities are ENDLESS! What can I say? To me, nothing else compares! Try finding a legit 5-ingredient cake recipe that doesn’t use a boxed caked mix or any ingredient pre-made. Now, try finding a legit 5-ingredient pie recipe. I can easily think of a few. From my key lime pie recipe to my chocolate ganache, these pies are just as satisfying as a 5+ ingredient pie.  You can’t get that from a 5-ingredient cake recipe.

Just saying.

minipie
The Mini Chocolate Ganache and Vanilla Bean Pies. They got Messed Up During the Delivery, but They Were Still Edible and Delicious.

PLUS! Pie is the perfect foundation for ice cream, whipped cream, caramel or chocolate drizzles, or any sort of topping! Try eating a cake with ice cream or whipped cream. It’s just not as good. It’s just not. All cake has going for it is the frosting, and MAYBE some kind of filling, but that doesn’t matter. Why waste your time with a cake that has a little bit of filling when you can have a pie, that is MOSTLY filling?! We all know that the filling is the best part and it’s the first thing people go for when they cut into a cake. Why go through all of that when you can just eat a pie?! Cake just can’t keep up.

Sorry, not sorry, cake.

~

Now don’t get me wrong. I love all things sweet, and I to bake them all as well, but come on, we all know pie is #1.

Leave a Reply

