Vegan-Friendly Sweet Potato Moonshine Pie (Just in Time for the Holidays!)

Now, being the somewhat good Southern Girl I’m not, I always have sweet potatoes in my home. It is a sweet staple that is just so much better than the plain russet potato. I make everything potato related out of sweet potatoes. I make them baked, mashed, shredded, fried, diced and in a hash, any way you make potatoes, I make it with sweet potatoes. They are just better in every way and can hold their own against a lot of strong spices without losing their own delicious flavor. If there’s sweet potato in something, you know there’s sweet potato in it, and I LOVE THAT! What can I say? I love sweet potatoes. They are awesome, and since I live in the South, instead of making a pumpkin pie for the holidays, like everyone else does, I make a sweet potato pie. This time I decided to add a bit of moonshine to it because who doesn’t love alcohol with their dessert? The moonshine is completely optional. This recipe also works really well with spiced rum or good ol’ bourbon. WARNING: You will taste the liquor. Proceed with caution. Make sure you use one that you actually enjoy drinking because you will literally be eating that in sweet potato pie form. Which, I’m never mad about.

First I start by baking off one large sweet potato. I usually do this one day ahead because I want it to be completely cooled before adding it to the batter. I just wash and dry the outside and stab it a few times with a fork. I then wrap it in aluminum foil and throw it into a 350°F (175°C) oven. I bake it for however long it takes for the potato to become soft to the touch. I then pull it out and let it sit for about an hour, letting the potato steam in the foil. That’s when I finally unwrap it, dry the peel, and place it into a piece of tupperware, uncovered, until it’s fully cooled.

So, now that your potato is ready, here’s everything else that you’ll need.

20151116_190402
Missing: Half of a Ripe Banana and the Soy Milk. I was SO CLOSE to Getting Every Ingredient in This Shot.

Ingredients:

  • 1 vegan-friendly pie crust*
  • 1 large sweet potato (baked and cooled. Should equal about 2 cups)
  • 3/4 cup of turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 of a super ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup of coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup of soy milk
  • 1/2 cup of apple pie moonshine
  • 1/2 of a ripe avocado
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon of allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 small pinch of cloves
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 3 teaspoons of cornstarch

*I usually just buy a box of those pre-made unbaked pie crusts. They come in 2 to a box and they can be found in your grocer’s refrigerated section. They’re usually located next to the other refrigerated unbaked goods, like the tubes of cookie dough, biscuits, and cinnamon rolls. I think they’re convenient, delicious, flaky, and a great time/ mess saver.

Directions: (Preheat oven to 350°F or 175°C)

  1. Place pie crust into your pie plate and, using your fingers, press the crust down into the bottom and slowly work your way to the sides of the dish. I then roll the edges of the crust that’s hanging over the sides down and press them in the rest of the crust to give it a clean edge. Set aside.
  2. Put the flesh of the baked sweet potato and avocado into your mixing bowl. Cream both ingredients together until smooth.
  3. Add the banana half and turbinado sugar to the mixing bowl and blend until smooth again.
  4. With your mixer running, slowly pour all of your wet ingredients (coconut milk, soy milk, moonshine, and vanilla extract) to the bowl.
  5. Finally, add all of your spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, all spice, and cloves) and cornstarch. Mix for another 10-15 seconds.
  6. Scrape the sides of your bowl and give it one last stir before you pour your batter into your unbaked pie crust.

    20151116_193947-1
    My Pie That’s Ready to go Into the Oven.
  7. Place your pie into the oven and bake until the center is just set, around 45-55 minutes (you’ll be able to tell because the edges will be cracked and the pie with deepen in color). Pull out the pie and let it sit at room temperature for about 2 hours before you put it in the refrigerator.
  8. Let your pie set up in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours. Overnight is definitely best. This is a great make ahead dessert that frees up oven space when you’re busy making any big holiday meal.
20151116_204527-1
Pie! Yay!

Now, I love topping my pie with a cinnamon and moonshine whipped cream. To make it, I grab a small carton of heavy cream, add that to my mixing bowl fitted with the whisk attachment. I turn on my mixer and whip the heavy cream until it starts to form very soft peaks. With the machine still running, I then add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1 tablespoon of moonshine, 1/4 cup of powdered sugar, and 1/2 of a teaspoon of vanilla. Mix until your whipped cream forms stiff peaks. I’m personally not a fan of soft whipped cream, so if that’s what you want, just whip it to soft peaks.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

