About Me: I’m Very Meh About the Holidays

I know I’ve been awful about updating the blog these last few days, but I’ve been suffering from some major medical and personal malfunctions, but things are picking up. I’m on all of the drugs and I finally have the bravery and set of mind to write this post.

So, the holidays.

Here’s something a lot of people don’t know about me. I actually don’t care about the holidays. They do nothing for me. I’m very impartial towards them. I don’t think we should have to carve out a specific time of year to appreciate everything that is often associated with the months of November and December. From family, to food, to drinking, to gift giving, I think all of these things should be celebrated all year long. Not just during some arbitrary two month block.

If you love your family, spend time with them whenever you are feeling appreciative. Spend a day just calling everyone and catching up. Don’t wait until the fourth Thursday of November/ the 24th or 25th of December to do it because you feel socially obligated to. Do you want to have a get together with your friends and relatives? Then just have one. Celebrate food and drink whenever you want. It doesn’t matter. I love my friends. I try to have a dinner party whenever I can afford to. I pick a theme and run with it. It’s not centered around the time of year, it’s centered around my appreciation and my feelings. And my friends know that if they miss one, there will be another one later on down the road. They don’t feel obligated or pressured into spending time with me during that one event because otherwise they’ll have to wait a whole ‘nother year. 364 days is just too long to wait. No guilt, no problems, just fun, food, friends, and drinks. Which I think are great things to celebrate all throughout the year. Same thing with gifts. If you see something someone you know would like, why wait all year for some arbitrary day? Why not let them know you were thinking about them on more than 1 (or 2, if you’re counting birthdays) day a year? People close to you love knowing that you’re thinking of them. It shows them that you genuinely care. This is why I can’t stand people who expect their significant others to only go above and beyond on Valentine’s Day. That’s complete bullshit and you know it. Any important relationship needs to be celebrated and cherished. Don’t go by what society says, go by your heart.

There have been times where I just look at my husband and I just say, “I appreciate you. Are you hungry? What do you want?” or I’ll be scavenging the web and see something small I know a good friend would love, so I buy it. It’s these small acts that progress any relationship forward. It’s the small things that let people know that you really care.

This is why the holidays rub me the wrong way. Don’t get me wrong. I am all about the food, the drink, and the parties, but a lot of people use it as their only time of year to show appreciation, which isn’t right. Don’t be lazy. Every relationship worthwhile takes year round  work and dedication.

Remember that.

And on that note, I am off to finish packing because I am heading to Puerto Rico for Thanksgiving this year. I will not be posting while I’m there because I am a firm believer in living in the moment, and that’s what I plan on doing. I will be enjoying the sun, sand, and disgustingly warm weather while everyone else will be starting to slowly freeze on the mainland.

Good luck and Happy Thanksgiving Everybody!

Leave a Reply

