Gluten-Free Banana Bread

Finally, a new post!

Hooray!

I’ve been so busy with being sick and preparing to move and everything else that life has to throw at me, that I have been kept away from updating this blog.

Well, NO MORE!

Now that things are being taken care of and this move is finally happening, I’m FINALLY able to sit down and write something, and I figured it might as well be a recipe (which is quick and simple and always appreciated). So, while I was packing up our apartment, readying our stuff for the movers, I, at some point, put everything down, took a break, and decided to bake one, FINAL thing in my apartment. I know, I’m super sentimental. I mean, I’m actually very surprised we made it a year here and I’ve burned down nothing. No fires, no flareups, no burnt anythings. It’s been a surprisingly great year.

So, this recipe came to me as a super last minute attempt of using up whatever was leftover in my pantry and fridge, especially the stuff that wouldn’t survive the move. I had so many almost-emptied containers that I wanted to use up, and instead of just throwing it away, or adding more weight to the move by packing them up, I decided to dump them all into one delicious dish (which is why I’m sure the quantities of things seem a little sporadic… my apologies). Like, who doesn’t like banana bread?! Who?! And if you don’t, you are just wrong. Unless it’s like, banana bread with nuts… Then you are correct. Nuts make everything worse (says the person allergic to them).

AND SO, here it is!

My new gluten-free banana bread (dump) recipe!

***WARNING: This shit is MOIST!!!***

20151211_154723
Not Pictured Above: Eggs, and 1 Banana… *sigh* One day I’ll get this! I Promise.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup of finely ground chia seeds*
  • 1/4 cup of finely ground quinoa*
  • 1/2 cup of finely ground oats*
  • 1/4 cup of coconut palm sugar**
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 can of chickpeas (soaked and drained to eliminate any excess salt)
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  • 3 bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 pinch of ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • *OPTIONAL: 1 cup of blueberries (And No More! Any extra moisture will throw the proportions off!)***

*These are the measurements I used before grinding the seeds and oats myself.

**I only used this because I wanted to. Plus, coconut palm sugar is a good substitute for diabetics. It has a low glycemic index, which keeps your blood sugar from spiking.

***Because why not? Blueberries are delicious. ❤

Directions: (Preheat oven to 350°F or 175°C)

  1. Sift all of the dry ingredients together in a bowl and set aside.
  2. Place coconut oil, bananas, chickpeas and eggs in a blender and combine until you reach a smooth consistency.
  3. Add mixture to a mixing bowl fitted with the paddle attachment. Blend in sugars until fully combined.
  4. Remove the bowl and gently fold in all of your dry ingredients.
  5. Fold in blueberries and place batter into a greased bread pan.

    20151211_191037
    DO NOT! I repeat, DO NOT BE THIS BRAVE! Unless You Have Something Underneath to Catch the Possible Spillage, Which I Did. I Might Be A Professional, But I am Also Prone to Mistakes. Don’t Make Baking Harder on Yourself by Adding Extra Clean-Up. PLUS, the More You Add to the Pan, the Longer it Takes to Bake. Don’t be a Hero, and Just Separate the Batter Into 2 Pans, or a Bigger, Flatter one.
  6. Bake for 55-75 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. I know it’s a long window, but depending on what pan you use, baking times will vary. Sorry. Just make sure you check it every 5-7 minutes after the 55 minute mark.
  7. Pull out your loaf and let it rest for a couple of hours. When it’s cool enough to handle, remove it from the pan and place on a cooling rack. Do NOT put away until it’s cooled completely!
20151211_210735
The Final Product! Yay! ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

