Gluten-Free 2x Chocolate Pancakes

So, we’ve been in Atlanta for a week now, and I have yet to bring myself to make anything in the kitchen outside of baked potatoes and oven roasted chicken.

UNTIL NOW!

I figured the BEST, first thing to make was something simple,… something I could use to gauge the heat settings on the stove top, and something I could eat while making more because I was hungry. Something I could do in batches and adjust the ingredients, proportions, and heat levels accordingly. So, pancakes it was. This is one of my simpler recipes that is just a simple dump and blend until smooth. Not only are these simple, but they are also super fluffy and delicate and melt in your mouth. They are good.

Now, a few things:
– I know I usually use the healthier version of things, but I haven’t really felt like going to the grocery store, so I’m using what’s available. That means, no turbinado sugar. Just plain, white, processed sugar for me, BUT you can easily substitute it with anything else.
– I haven’t figured out how to make these fluffy AND paleo yet, but that’s next on my list. Okay, not really next, but it’s on there.
– These pancakes don’t have to be chocolate. If you want, you can just omit the chocolate and add whatever you want. Want to make blueberry pancakes? Take out the chocolate and once you pour the pancakes into the pan, sprinkle with the blueberries. Want to make peanut butter banana pancakes? Add 1/4 cup of peanut butter (or any nut/ seed butter) to the blender and when you pour the batter into the skillet, add slices of banana to each one. Voila! Peanut butter banana pancakes!

20151219_165336

Ingredients:

  • 1 can on cannelloni beans (soaked and drained)
  • 1/4 cup of finely ground quinoa*
  • 1/3 of a super ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup of sugar**
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • Soy milk***
  • OPTIONAL: chocolate chips****

*This is the measurement I used before grinding the grain.
**I know it seems like a lot, but when cooking with anything that has beans, you usually need to up the sugar (or salt) content to counteract the fact that those beans just absorb whatever you add to them. Like, not just absorb, but they also tone down and mellow the flavor. So, always add a little more than you usually would to compensate for that.***This is only to dilute the batter to pancake consistency. You might need it, you might not.
****I’m a bad person and didn’t measure out how many chocolate chips I used. I just sprinkled them into each individual pancake. These pancakes taste just as good and fluffy without them, but come on. Who doesn’t want the extra chocolate? Bad people. That’s who. And, I didn’t use them, but these pancakes can be made healthier by using dark chocolate chips. I only used semi-sweet because I wasn’t that hellbent on being healthy, but the dark is always a delicious option as well.

Directions: (Yields a lot of pancakes. I made 3 small-ish ones at a time, so probably around 12-15 pancakes.)

  1. Dump everything, EXCEPT for the chocolate chips into a blender and blend until smooth. If the final product seems a bit thick, add the soy milk, a tablespoon or two at time, until the batter reaches a pourable, pancake consistency (I used around 1/4 cup).

    20151219_170626
    Having Fun With New Kitchen Tools. So Much Better Than a Blender. ❤
  2. Take a medium non-stick pan and place it over just under medium heat.
  3. Pour the batter into the pan, until your pancakes reach the desired size.
  4. Sprinkle the chocolate chips on top of each pancake.

    20151219_171506
    This is About the Average Size of Each Pancake I Made.
  5. The pancakes should be ready to flip in about 3-4 minutes. You’ll know when you start seeing bubbles permeating each pancake.
  6. Flip the pancakes and allow them to cook for another 2 minutes.
  7. That’s it!

20151219_172708

Leave a Reply

