Paleo-/ Vegan-Friendly Cream of Carrot Soup

It’s that time of year again where soup becomes a viable option for body sustainability. It is warm, comforting, and above all, easy to eat. Really. All you have to do is swallow. Any true lazy person would agree with me. Soup is the ULTIMATE lazy person food. You just throw stuff into a pot with some water/ stock/ broth/ liquid (it could even be some form of alcohol), and boom.

SOUP!

So, with the temperatures dropping and my sinuses hating the dry air, I decided to take care of myself by making a healthy, antioxidant, beta-carotene, anti-viral, and anti-bacterial rich soup from all of the leftover ingredients I have from making Christmas dinner. I originally wasn’t going to post this recipe (hence, the lack of prep pictures), but it turned out so well that I had to. In fact, it reminded me of this one soup that a chef friend of mine would make. They specialized in paleo-friendly dishes. This recipe was a happy accident that I am tempted to share…

And I AM!

It’s that good.

You are welcome. ^-^

Ingredients:

  • 10 cups of water
  • 10 medium carrots (roughly chopped)*
  • 1 medium onion (roughly chopped)*
  • 2 stalks of celery (roughly chopped)*
  • 4 broccoli stalks (roughly chopped)**
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic***
  • 4 sprigs of dried thyme
  • 2 teaspoons of dried rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes****
  • 1 teaspoon of dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of dried parsley
  • 1 tablespoon of turmeric*****
  • 1 tablespoon of salt
  • 2 teaspoons of black pepper
  • 2 small bay leaves
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • ***OPTIONAL: 1 can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed. I understand that chickpeas are NOT paleo-friendly, but I added them to this one because I wanted some sort of heart-healthy protein in this dish. Plus, I figured since hummus is not a paleo-diet killer, the chickpeas themselves are okay for the occasional consumption of legumes.)***

*You want them all chopped to roughly the same size so they’ll cook evenly.
**I know this sounds weird, but I had these leftover from making roasted broccoli florets and I didn’t want them to go to waste, or take time turning on the oven and roasting them like I usually do, so I just threw them in here. It didn’t take away from any of the carrot flavor because they’re so mild themselves. In fact, they just upped the nutritional value of the dish. You’re welcome.
***Or however much you want. I love garlic, so I usually add a LOT more than everyone else. To me, there’s no such thing as “too much” garlic. That’s just a phrase they use to keep the garlic lovers down. Well, I’m not ashamed!
****Again, this just depends on your taste. If you like it spicy, add more. If not, don’t.
*****Turmeric is a miracle spice! It’s perfect for everything! It can even treat jaundice and flatulence! Hooray!

Directions:

  1. Add water, celery, carrots, broccoli stalks, onion, and garlic to a pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Add your spices and bay leaves to the pot and cook until the vegetables are tender. This step should be about 15-25 minutes.
  3. Add the garbanzo beans to the pot and cook them until the beans are heated through.
  4. Remove the bay leaves and submerse an immersion blender into the pot. Turn on and puree the vegetables and spices until smooth.
  5. Add the olive oil and coconut milk and whisk until fully combined. If your soup is too thick for your tastes, feel free to add a bit more water until it reaches a delicious consistency.
  6. Taste your soup and adjust seasonings to your palate.
  7. Enjoy!
20151230_210819
I Finished Off My Bowl With a Drizzle of Olive Oil and a Sprinkle of Minced Parsley. YUM! ❤
Leave a Reply

