Gluten-Free Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I told you my next recipe was going to be a gluten-free one. I had planned on making my chocolate chip cookies with my pretty, new gluten-free flour blend, but the oatmeal raisin ones had been on my mind for a much longer period of time. I really couldn’t bring myself to make the chocolate chips one before I had the chance to make these. Plus, they’re my husband’s favorite cookie (he’s weird like that) and it’s been a while since I’ve made them. In fact, I’m pretty sure I haven’t even touched them since mid-June…

Yes, and I didn’t even make them at home! I was working at a bakery back in Tampa and this happened before I left my former employer to buckle down and focus on the finer details of my wedding. Plus, my best friend (and MoH) was flying across the pond in early July to spend a few months with me, and I wanted to spend as much time with her a possible. We only get this opportunity every other year or so, so we make it count.

So, I completely love this recipe.

That’s it.

There’s no missing the gluten. There’s no wondering what’s that flavor. It just tastes like an oatmeal raisin cookie. A delicious, chewy on the inside, crispy on the outside, oatmeal raisin cookie.

This was my thought process behind coming up with this recipe. I wanted to make these cookies healthier by eliminating the gluten and some of the butter and eggs. My first thought was to replace the flour with oat flour because it wouldn’t take away from the oat flavor. You can’t really mess up oatmeal raisin cookies by adding more oats. It’s impossible. That was the easy part. Then I turned my focus to the moisturizing and binding of these cookies. Most recipes I’ve used before this called for 2 sticks of butter and 3 eggs. I decided to cut the amount of butter in half because I still wanted the flavor of the butter without the calories. Then I settled with taking out an egg to lower the amount of cholesterol. In order to replace that lost moisture, I went with the blended chickpeas. I also decided to add the chia flour because not only does it have a very neutral flavor, but chia congeals when wet, so using it in these cookies helped the butter and eggs bind them together. As for sweetening of these cookies, I wanted to cut out as much brown sugar as possible because it’s just not healthy. I found that going half and half with the light brown sugar and the coconut palm sugar was the best ratio for this recipe. The rest just fell into place.

I will add that because of the lack of butter, and because oatmeal raisin cookie dough is typically drier, these cookies won’t spread as much. So, don’t look in the oven when your timer goes off and think you did something wrong. Do not worry. They are alright.

Anyways, these are my oatmeal raisin cookies, free of gluten and amped with chia seeds and chickpeas for extra nutrition. Not only are these cookies satisfying, they’re also a great source of energy. They will provide your body with protein, fiber, manganese, calcium, and folate. Constipated?! NOT ANYMORE! Brittle bones?! NOT THIS BITCH! These tiny powerhouses also help regulate your blood sugar and support your overall heart health! What CAN’T these cookies do?!?!?!?

2016-01-14 18.17.33
I Like To Store Things In Air Tight Containers, So The Flimsy Bag of Light Brown Sugar is in the Chobani Container and the Baking Soda is in the Other One.

Ingredients: (yields around 60 cookies)

  • 1 stick of butter (softened at room temperature)
  • 3/4 cup of light brown sugar*
  • 3/4 cup of coconut palm sugar*
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (I used to my fancy new Moroccan bourbon kind)
  • 2 heaping teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 cup of ground oats**
  • 1/4 cup of ground chia seeds**
  • 2 teaspoons of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 3 1/2 cups of oats***
  • 2 cups of raisins
  • ****OPTIONAL: 2 teaspoons of cinnamon****

*I use a combination of both to cut back on the sweetness, but I wanted the benefits of the coconut palm sugar.
**This was the measurement I used before I processed the oats and chia seeds.
***Never use steel-cut oats for this recipe. They won’t cook in time and the cookies will be almost inedible. Too chewy and not in the good way. Your best bet is to go with plain oats, or quick-cooking ones. I REPEAT: Do Not Use Steel-Cut Oats! They are NOT your friend when it comes to cookies!****I didn’t add cinnamon to my dough because I figured the new vanilla I was trying out had enough flavor, but feel free to add it if you love cinnamon. It can only make things more delicious. In fact, if you are using plain vanilla, I would. Spice it up a bit.

Directions:

  1. Dump the chickpeas and eggs into a food processor and blend until you have a smooth consistency. Set aside.
  2. Pour the oat flour, chia flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon (optional) into a bowl and use a whisk to combine. Set aside.

    20160114_183534
    My Flours and Egg/ Chickpea Smoothie.
  3. In your mixing bowl fitted with a whisk attachment, combine your soften butter and sugars and mix until the butter is completely incorporated (due to the amount of butter and coconut palm sugar, the mixture won’t be smooth or creamy. It’ll be crumbly and falling apart. If you look below, this is what you want).

    20160114_184236
    This is the Grainy Consistency You’ll Get With the Butter and Sugars.
  4. Add the chickpea and egg smoothie, along with the vanilla, to the mixing bowl and beat until combined (while always stopping to scrape the bottom and sides of your bowl. Depending on the type of mixer you’re using, you might have to this a few times).
  5. Add the flour mixture to the bowl and mix until smooth. Remove bowl from mixer.

    20160114_184812
    DON’T FORGET TO COMBINE THE BAKING SODA WITH THE FLOURS! I Totally Forgot and I’m Ashamed. I’m a Bad Baker.
  6. Pour in the oats and hand mix the dough until everything is evenly distributed.
  7. Repeat with raisins.

    20160114_185846
    This is the Final Consistency of the Dough.
  8. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and place it in the refrigerator. Let it chill for at least an hour, 4 hours maximum.
  9. Preheat your oven to 350°F (or 175°C) and use a tablespoon measure to scoop your dough. Place your cookies about 1 1/2 – 2 inches apart on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.20160114_203426
  10. Bake for 9-11 minutes; until the edges touching the pan are slightly browned and the tops are just starting to darken.

    20160114_210525
    On the Right: The Bottom of the Cookie; On the Left: The Tips Just Starting to Brown
  11. Remove the cookies from the oven and let them rest on the baking sheet for another 10 minutes.
  12. Enjoy!

    20160114_210411
    This Recipe Makes a Lot of Cookies. There Will be Plenty to Share, Even if You Don’t Want to.
Leave a Reply

