Paleo Pasta Recipe!

I did it!

I finally did it!

I made a paleo pasta recipe that works!

And I made lasagne!

And I didn’t cry!!!

So, in honor of my culinary accomplishment, I will share this recipe with the internet, so no one will ever have to go through what I went through in looking for a legit recipe.

Also, this recipe is practically everything free!… EXCEPT for the eggs (sorry ya’ll).

You’re welcome internet.

IMG_20160225_155914
Your Initial Setup.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs + 1 yolk
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 1 cup + 3-4 teaspoons of cassava flour (depending on how giant your eggs are)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

Directions:

  1. Take a cup of your cassava flour and make a well in the middle.
  2. Add eggs, oil, and salt to the well.
  3. With a fork, break the yolks and mix all of the wet ingredients together. As you are whisking, incorporate the flour that is making up the sides of the well.

    IMG_20160225_160021
    You Can’t See My Face, but I am Extremely Concentrating Right Here.
  4. When the mixture is too thick to whisk, ditch the fork and start using your hands to finish the job.

    IMG_20160225_160300
    Time to Get Messy!
  5. When the dough ball comes together, it will be a bit wet. Incorporate a teaspoon of cassava flour at a time until the dough pulls away from your hands (I added 4). You’ll want to make sure it isn’t too dry. It shouldn’t stick to your hands, but it also shouldn’t crack around the edges when you try to flatten it. This is will help prevent your dough from tearing/ ripping/ cracking/ drying out as easily when you roll it out. Now, wrap it in saran wrap and chill it in the fridge for at least 30 minutes (I have no idea what this does, but whenever I watch the Food Network, they always say to let the dough rest. I know that’s what you have to do when working with the gluten, but I don’t know if it’s the same thing when working with cassava, so just to be on the safe side, I let it rest. No harm done.)

    IMG_20160225_160753
    So Smooth…
  6. After a minimum of 30 minutes, flour a smooth, solid surface and roll out your dough, making sure you stop rolling to lift the dough off of the surface to keep it from sticking. I usually roll it out half way, lift it up, apply more flour and spread out the flour to where I want the dough to reach, and place the dough back on the surface and continue rolling. Although stuck dough won’t be the end of everything, it is annoying to rip a pasta sheet or noodle due to a lack of flour.

    2016-02-25_18.49.02
    I Rolled Out My Dough Until I Could See My Counter Top Through It.
  7. Anyways, when you’ve reached your desired thickness, clean the edges and cut the dough into any shape you want. Here, I was making lasagne, so I rolled it out and cut it into sheets (which I will post later). This recipe makes quite a bit of pasta. I was able to make 6 decent sheets and then some little noodles for later, if I ever wanted just a little bite of pasta and not a whole slice of lasagne (because there’s no such thing as a tiny slice of lasagne).
IMG_20160225_173620
4 Out of My 6 Sheets Made.
IMG_20160225_173658
Such Technique!

 

2016-02-25_18.49.58
Here You Can See the Ugliness of Not Flouring Your Surface Enough!

Cooking times will vary based on the thickness and length of your pasta. The best way to test it is at the 3-4 minute mark. You just try a noodle to make sure it’s cooked to your taste.

Leave a Reply

