Gluten-Free Cassava Muffins

It’s been hard for me when it comes to trying to find the time to adjust my baking recipes between working and volunteering, but I finally got around to it! Well, this one specifically… Now, my muffin recipe is finally cassava flour friendly. In attempting to recreate this recipe, I highly recommend using a paper cupcake tin liner. It prevents the muffins from soaking up any excess oils from the non-stick spray that would’ve been used. We don’t want those extra fats and calories.

So here it is, my gluten free friendly cassava muffins recipe.

I hope you like it.

IMG_20160301_174441

Ingredients: (makes about 24 mini-muffins)

  • 1 1/2 cups of cassava flour
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 stick of butter*
  • 1/2 cup of milk*
  • 1 cup of Greek yogurt*
  • 3 eggs*
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla
  • 2-3 cups of blueberries (I like a lot of blueberries, but you can add less if you want to)

*All of these ingredients combine best at room temperature

Directions: Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C)

  1. Whisk all of your dry ingredients together in a small bowl and set aside.
  2. In a larger bowl, cream together butter and sugar.
  3. Whisk in eggs until they are fully incorporated.2016-03-01_19.18.36
  4. Add in vanilla, yogurt, and milk.
  5. Fold in dry ingredients until batter is smooth.2016-03-01_19.19.30
  6. Fold in blueberries.
  7. Spoon batter into cupcake/ mini-muffin tins (fill each one about 2/3 the way up)
  8. Place in oven and bake for about 25-30 minutes.
  9. Your muffins are done when they bounce back to the touch, OR if you really want to make sure, stick one of the middle ones with a toothpick and if it comes out clean, they’re done.

    2016-03-01_19.18.00
    I Might Have Gotten Greedy and Added A Bit More Batter Than I was Supposed to…
  10. Pull the muffins from the oven to rest.
  11. Enjoy!

I also sometimes like splitting the muffin batter in half and make two different flavors. Outside of the usual blueberry, I like making an apple spiced muffin. So, before I add the blueberries, I’ll split the batter in half and add the blueberries to one half and to the other, I’ll add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, 1/8 teaspoon of allspice, a very small pinch of cloves (it has a very STRONG flavor), and about 1 1/2 cups of diced apples. If you want to make the entire batter apple spiced, just double the amount of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and cloves and whisk it in with the dry ingredients. ALSO, if you want, swap out half of the sugar for brown sugar because brown sugar, butter, spices, AND apples are delicious together! And it doesn’t even have to be apples! Thinly shredded carrots and bananas also go well with this flavor combo.

I also like adding a sprinkling of turbinado sugar to the top of the muffins before I place them in the oven to give them a bit of a crunch factor when they come out. OR, you can take a cup of quick cooking oats, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 6 tablespoons of butter, a pinch of salt, and throw it all in a bowl. Using a fork, or bread cutter, use the prongs to mash the butter together with the other ingredients. Keep mashing until the butter is about the size of small peas. Sprinkle a little bit of the oat mixture on top of each unbaked muffin. Trust me, you’ll thank me for it later.

One last thing. Sometimes, I won’t even make muffins with this batter. I’ll make mini-cakes that go great with morning coffee or tea time, because why not? These cakes bake for about 35-40 minutes until the tops are golden brown.2016-03-01_19.19.58

2016-03-01_19.20.56
Get a Look at THEM APPLES!!!
Leave a Reply

