Snacking on Goat Cheese & G.F. Crackers (Recipe)

So this all started out with a leisurely trip to the farmer’s market… Which was a huge mistake on my behalf because there’s no such thing as a leisurely trip to the farmer’s market with me. The farmer’s market to me is like shopping at Target to almost every female (and every shopping enthusiastic male) in the United States.

Case and Point:
1) I went in, needing only oxtails and carrots.

2) I left with the oxtails and carrots I needed, along with green onions, a giant family pack of ribeye steaks, a jar of Jamaican jerk seasoning, 3 different bags of flours, 4 different cheeses, and a few Jamaican coconut-ginger candies for my mom.

Let’s just say, I was practically $120 poorer when I left, and this isn’t an isolated incident. It happens practically every time, but this isn’t a story about my awful shopping habits. This is a story about my love of dairy and my journey to find the perfect partner.

So, I bought 4 different types of delicious cheeses. One of those cheeses was goat cheese.

Now, goat cheese is my all time favorite cheese.

Almost everyone I know hates it, but it is definitely sitting pretty at my top spot on my list of cheese. It’s so creamy, tangy, and it pairs so deliciously well with a lot of flavors I thoroughly enjoy. This is why I hardly buy it. I love this cheese so much that I can barely control myself when it’s in the house.

Not even in the house.

It had been so long since the last time I bought goat cheese that when we reached the car, I grabbed the tube and ripped it open. I enjoyed part of my just bought goat cheese right then and there; before I even turned on my car.

I was a mess.

Anyways, it wasn’t until I reached home did I realize my predicament. I had nothing crunchy and flavorful to enjoy my cheese with.

No crackers!

I can’t believe I hadn’t thought about it before!

This was such a rookie mistake.

I clearly had no idea what I was doing with my life.

After my quick panic attack, I decided  was FINALLY going to make my own. I mean, I’ve been avoiding this my entire life. Why make crackers when I already enjoyed the ones being produced for me by other people. I soon learned how much of a luxurious life I was living pre-exccess allergies.

After preparing myself mentally (I knew this was going to be a frustrating process), I set out to find any cracker recipe that I could actually replicate. Since most of them were just flour, water, oil, baking powder, and salt, I first tried just replacing the wheat flour with some cassava flour and baked it off. The original recipe called for me to just roll out the dough and bake it as one huge chunk.

So I did that.

It was awful.

It turned into some sort of cassava pancake, and not the giant, crispy cracker I was hoping for.

2016-03-15_21.28.08
Just Awful.

 

Next, I tried rolling out the dough and cutting it into squares. I then tossed them into the oven and hoped that these would turn out better. I mean, I really hoped because I didn’t want to have to make another batch. I just wanted eat my goat cheese with some damn crackers! While waiting for these crackers to bake, half of me didn’t believe it was going to work because I was thinking a simple cracker recipe relies on the elasticity of the wheat flour when wet, and I can’t obtain that with just water and oil. The other half of me prayed because I was too lazy to consider making another batch that night.

2016-03-15_21.28.40
This Tray Taught Me That Same Size is a Huge Component to Crispy Crackers

Guess which half wound up disappointed.

Judging by the texture, it felt like I was eating a potato chip… Or, more specifically, a pringle. It had that grainy texture and just disintegrated in my mouth. Zero substance. Little to no crunchability. I couldn’t eat my beloved goat cheese with this.

I decided to turn in for the night and try again the next day.

The following morning, I woke up and I knew that I couldn’t make a gluten AND grain free cracker with just flour, water, baking powder, and oil. I needed to get creative and add all the binders and all the things that made baked goods crunchy.

So basically eggs and butter…

I also wanted to add more flavor to the cracker to compliment the goat cheese. So I went with the classic garlic and rosemary combination.

I had also bought yam flour from the farmer’s market, so I decided to add some of that to my cracker dough as well. It works well as a thicker and partial binder.

I was going all out on these crackers.

I even went as far as to freeze the butter and my grater so I could cut the butter into the dough easier and eliminate the threat of me over working the dough. I then painted each, individual cracker with melted butter to ensure the buttery goodness! I’ve never been so determined in my life.

The final product: It was perfect for what I wanted!

Like, the texture was there. I got the crunch I wanted. There was enough of the garlic and rosemary flavor to really bring out the deliciousness of my goat cheese even more. It was perfect.

My only qualm is… There’s a little bit of powdery mouth feel when you first bite into one. It’s like it was dusted with a little bit of flour, but didn’t taste bad. I mean, I’ve had wheat crackers that had the same taste, so I wasn’t offended. To be completely honest, the creaminess from the cheese completely obliterated any powdery tongue feel and it was just delicious.

So, my recommendation?

This cracker is perfect for dipping into anything creamy.

Or for snacking. My husband loves grabbing some every time he passes through the kitchen. We are quite different, so I know they can be enjoyed by someone without the goat cheese… I don’t know why. Goat cheese makes everything better.

Fact.

These crackers are also conveniently paleo as well.

Fact.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cassava flour
  • 1/2 cup yam flour
  • 1 stick of butter (frozen and grated)
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup of olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of iced water
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried rosemary*
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of garlic powder*
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt
  • 2 tablespoons of melted butter

*These are just the flavor profiles that I went with. They can easily be swapped out with different ones. Maybe a black pepper and sesame seed cracker? Or lemon and herb? Hmmm…

Directions:

  1. Place butter and grater in freezer and let chill for at least 30 minutes.
  2. In the meantime, combine flours, baking powder, rosemary, garlic, and salt into a mixing bowl and whisk until combine.IMG_20160313_170004
  3. In a measuring cup, combine your oil, water, and THEN your egg whites. I whisked them together in the measuring cup just to make sure I don’t over mix the dough to evenly distribute everything. Set aside.IMG_20160313_170648
  4. Grab your frozen butter and grater from the freezer and shred the butter onto a cutting board. When you’re done, add the shredded butter into the bowl that contains all of your dry ingredients.IMG_20160313_170347
  5. Take a fork and break down the butter even more until it is the size of peas.
  6. Add your liquids to the bowl and stir with the fork until combined.IMG_20160313_170742
  7. Flour a clean, dry work surface and work the dough into a ball. If it sticks to your hands, just add some more cassava flour until it doesn’t. Remember: try not to over work your dough.IMG_20160313_171404
  8. Wrap dough in saran wrap and chill in your fridge for at least an hour. This step is important.
  9. Preheat oven to 375°F (or 190°C)
  10. Remove the dough from your fridge, unwrap it, and cut it in half. Re-wrap a half and place it back in the fridge. (This recipe makes a lot of crackers. Half of the dough filled up two small sheet pans for me.)IMG_20160313_191908
  11. Flour your surface again and roll out the dough as thin as you can. I rolled it out until I got it to about a half a centimeter thick (or until I could see my counter top design through it.) Be careful, the dough is sort of finicky because it doesn’t have the same elasticity of regular, wheat flour dough, but if it cracks, you can just press the dough back together.2016-03-15_19.23.16
  12. Cut out your crackers into 1-by-1 inch squares. Any bigger and the centers will be softer than the outside. OR the outsides will burn before the centers crisp up. Any smaller and they’re just too obnoxious to handle. Trust me, this is what you want. And they all need to be the same size, or else they won’t bake evenly and you’ll be opening the oven, taking out the smaller ones, and continue baking the bigger ones, and continue opening and closing the oven and it makes things more complicated than they have to be.2016-03-15_19.23.50
  13. Anyways, use a thin spatula to transfer your dough squares to a parchment lined sheet pan(s) and brush on the melted butter.
  14. Place the crackers in the oven and set your timer for 9-10 minutes. When time’s up, pull the pan from the oven and flip the crackers over. The bottoms should be lightly browned. Rotate your pan (so the crackers that were in the back are now in the front and vice versa) and place it back in the oven and set your timer for another 3-5 minutes, or until the edges of your crackers are browned and the centers are still a bit light.

    IMG_20160316_101150
    This is the Color You’re Looking For.
  15. Remove your crackers from the oven and cool to room temperature.
  16. Enjoy!
IMG_20160315_125729
The Only Way I Want to Enjoy My Goat Cheese & Crackers… In My Bed. ❤
Leave a Reply

