Tomato Sauce Recipe

I realized that I’ve already uploaded a few posts already that had my tomato sauce in it (and plan on adding more in the future), so I figured I might as well share the recipe. You know, for continuity and all that.

You’re welcome.

P.S. This makes a LOT of sauce. It was enough to feed my husband and me, and enough to give to my sister so she could feed hers. Like, this is enough to use half, freeze the other half, and still eat leftovers for days.

IMG_20160225_151950

Ingredients:

  • 8 Roma tomatoes (diced)
  • 1 giant can of crushed tomatoes
  • 2 medium onions (diced)
  • 1 tablespoon of dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tablespoon of granulated garlic
  • 2 teaspoons of salt
  • 2 teaspoons of pepper
  • 2 teaspoons of dried, crushed rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes
  • 3 small bay leaves/ 2 medium bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • olive oil

Directions:

  1. Grab a big saucepot and place it over medium-high heat.
  2. Add butter and enough olive oil to coat the bottom of the pot.IMG_20160225_153343
  3. When the butter & oil mixture is hot enough, add the onions and cook them down until translucent.IMG_20160225_153951
  4. Add all of your herbs and spices (except the bay leaves) and cook for another minute or two, continuously stirring to prevent the spices from burning. IMG_20160225_154455
  5. Add the tomatoes.IMG_20160225_154714
  6. Add the canned tomatoes.
  7. Fill most of the *now empty* giant can with water and add it to the pot.
  8. Stir it all together and add bay leaves.IMG_20160225_155139
  9. Bring to boil and reduce to low heat.
  10. Let sauce simmer for at least an hour (3 hours is usually my personal cutoff).
  11. Skim the fat pooling at the top of the sauce.

    IMG_20160225_172706
    Yeah, You Don’t Want Any of That Shiny Stuff in Your Sauce…
  12. When almost done, remove bay leaves and use an immersion blender until sauce is smooth. Or not, if you like a chunky sauce. This part is TOTALLY optional.

If you were going to make this a meat sauce, I would add the ground meat (or sliced sausage) about 30 minutes before the sauce is done to your liking (if you are using sausage links, I’d bump up the cooking time to about an hour), and raise the temperature a little until the sauce starts boiling again. I’d then drop it back down to a simmer, stirring occasionally. Obviously if you want a smoother meat sauce, blend the stewed tomatoes and onions BEFORE adding your meat.

In this version of the sauce, I added a combination ground beef and mild Italian sausage just to really bring home that Italian flavor.

And that’s it.

That’s my “basic” tomato sauce, which is really anything but basic, but what can I say? I love all of these spices and herbs together and they are so delicious when they’ve been simmering for hours.

I use this sauce in everything. From my lasagne, to the base of my stews, to my pizzas, this sauce is prefect for anything.

I get happy just thinking about it.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

