Egg Drop Soup (A Fond Memory)

Fall is almost here and I’m SOUP-er excited for soup season. Nothing feels better than sitting outside with a warm bowl of soup, watching the leaves turn. So, in order to celebrate, I’m going to try to share some of my favorite soup recipes that can be enjoyed throughout the following months.

Starting with this one.

~*~

I have a confession…

Egg drop is my all time favorite soup E*V*E*R.

I don’t know why, but I remember when I was younger, I always wanted egg drop soup and fried Chinese donuts at every chance I got. It could’ve been the saltiness of the broth with the somewhat chewy texture of the egg,… but if I haven’t figured it out after 27 years, I don’t think I ever will.

It’s just so simple that there’s nothing really special about it.

Even when my family and I lived overseas in the Middle East, where the cuisine is anything but simple, we enjoyed frequenting a restaurant called The Pavilion. Now, they didn’t have egg drop soup on the menu, instead, they had a soup called chicken and corn soup… which was very reminiscent of the American egg drop soup.

Every time we went there, my family and I ordered it.

It was SOOOOOO GOoOoOooooOOd!

Ugh, I get nostalgic just thinking about it.

And that’s where I found inspiration for this recipe. I was so nostalgia driven that nothing could stop me from trying to recreate this dish, and, to my surprise, I actually did it!

And it’s so easy to make.

It’s like egg drop soup dressed up in a suit and tie with a pair of those leather shoes that have the little tassels. I’m telling you, this is restaurant quality/ style soup.

If you love egg drop soup as much as I do, you’ll love this recipe. The chicken and corn give the soup some texture and a much added sweetness that you didn’t know egg drop soup was missing.

I could go on about egg drop soup for days, but that’s not the point of this post, so I’m just going to stop myself and hand over the recipe.

I hope you guys love it as much as I do!

P.S. This soup can easily be made vegetarian by omitting the chicken and chicken broth, and instead, using vegetable broth in its place. It’s still super delicious that way as well.

IMG_20160710_125731~2
IT’S SO STUPIDLY SIMPLE BUT SO STUPIDLY GOOD!!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 32 ounce (2 pound) carton of chicken broth (I use the low-sodium kind)
  • 1 small pinch of lightly dried ginger (I can usually find this in the refrigerated herbs section at my local grocery store. If you can’t, dried ginger is just as good. Just BE VERY CAREFUL! This soup has so many subtle flavors that the ginger can easily overpower everything.)
  • 1 chicken breast fillet cut into small cubes (about the same size as the corn kernels)

    IMG_20160710_132754~2
    Like This.
  • 1 can of sweet corn (drained and rinsed)
  • 3 eggs + 1 yolk whisked together
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of cornstarch
  • 1 stalk of green onions, chopped on a bias (I told you this was fancy.)
IMG_20160710_133446
I Usually Keep Everything Prepped And Ready To Go Because Everything Cooks So Fast! Seriously. Less Than 10 Minutes,… TOPS.

Directions:

  1. Add chicken broth and ginger into a medium sized pot and bring to a simmer.
  2. Add diced chicken and cook for 2-3 minutes. It’s so small, it’ll cook instantly.
  3. Add corn.

    IMG_20160710_133551~2
    I Know It Doesn’t Look Like Much Now, But TRUST ME!
  4. While gently stirring the chicken/ corn mixture in a circular motion, slowly pour in your eggs. These, too, will cook instantly.

    IMG_20160710_133950~2
    Now It Looks Like Egg Drop Soup!
  5. Once all the eggs are in, combine the 1/2 cup of water with the 1 1/2 tablespoons of cornstarch in a bowl (you don’t want any lumps in this or else you’ll wind up with lumps in your soup and that’s not fancy). Add slurry to the pot and simmer for about 1-2 minutes, until it reaches egg drop soup consistency (you know what I’m talking about.)
  6. Stir in most of the chopped green onions, while reserving some for a topping.
  7. For the final, fancy touch, sprinkle some of the remain green onion on the top of each bowl before serving you or your guests.

And there you go!

My version of egg drop soup that is likely to impress anyone!

When did you get so fancy?

Leave a Reply

